Securing the Homefront

As this week comes to a close I can say emphatically, TGIF. No dear readers, no kink involved in that exclamation just plain old good Thank God its Friday. This week has been a blur what with a crazy schedule that has sent me all over the state, emergencies in cases that I thought to be dormant, the death threats, the trial beginning next week, and preparing for Captain’s first official Halloween.

….wait…did I just say death threats???

Why yes, yes I did. Unfortunately while I love the mud and blood of hitting the courtroom trenches, it carries with it issues beyond that of someone fighting the good fight. It in fact carries over to more akin of a special agent like you see in the movies. The ones where the bad guys figure taking shots at the heroes loved ones is a good idea. No need for details, but suffice to say it made this week’s long hours even longer. And it made me step up protocol with sweetness. I don’t typically require contacting me with status updates unless I specifically ask, this week unless she was at work I wanted her to tell me where she was going, who with, and an ETA. Favors were pulled for extra drive bys to be performed by the local law enforcement agency, and unfortunately for her, our bigger puppy will be having more crate time as she was the one on the loose this week while sweetness and captain were home alone. Both of our pups have the til death protection mentality, and honestly I imagine that the one that has been crated more this week would likely be the more inclined to never say die with her approach to the intruder if any were to appear, but unfortunately the other one has the visual intimidation factor and honestly the heft to do some serious damage as I can attest to having gotten an accidental taste a few times of the working end of her teeth.

sweetness has been made aware of the need for an increase, but as we have agreed she hasn’t asked for more than I tell her because she knows I will always keep her in the know for her protection. she knows someone wasn’t thrilled with me this week, she knows that person/s has made a threat, and she knows that I will do whatever necessary to protect her and the captain and of course my own self as well.

Needless to say in all of this, sweetness and I have not had as much time for KF or even much time in any form being physically proximate or near each other. sweetness as required by our dynamic let me know about her feelings today and I invited her to post about it as well, having reviewed what she wrote/posted here. I will reply in kind:

sweetness:

 

last

But never forget sweetness, though I may not be physically present this is the universal truth

93b730bb6088183d099276105d832a4a.jpg

Leave a comment